Workers in cash strapped states who are being owed salaries have reasons to smile again, following disbursement of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) backed bailout loans for states.
Already Kwara and Zamfara have received their loans and have begun the payment of salary arrears to workers. quoting a CBN source confirmed that the other states will get the cash this week.
A breakdown of the loans repayable at an interest rate of nine percent over 30 years is as follows:
Abia – N14.152bn, Adamawa – N2.378bn, Bauchi – N8.60bn, Bayelsa – N 1.285bn, Benue – N 28.013bn, Borno- N 7.680bn, Ebonyi – N 4.063bn, Edo – N3.167bn, Ekiti – N 9.604bn, Enugu – 4.207bn, Gombe – N 16.459, Imo – N 26.806bn, Katsina – N 3.304bn, Kebbi – N 0.690bn, Kogi – N 50.842bn, Kwara – N 4.320bn, Nassarawa – N 8.317bn, Niger – N 4.306bn, Ogun – N 20.00bn, Ondo– N 14.686bn, Osun – 34.988bn, Oyo – N 26.606bn, Plateau – N 5.357bn, 

Sokoto– N 10.093bn, and Zamfara state – N 10.020bn.
The CBN last week announced that it had approved that Deposit Money Banks (DMBs) lend money to requesting States to pay salary arrears owed their worker

The delay by the Rauf Aregbesola’s Osun State led administration to give the go ahead to the State Ministry of Local government and Chieftaincy to commence the process of filling the vacant stool of Ooni of Ife may have been the reason why a successor is yet to be named for the throne.

Reports say, ten days after the traditional rites were completed on August 22, 2015, the Governor is yet to direct the relevant government agency to commence the process of selecting one. gathered that the Chieftaincy Edict stipulates that the state government should commence the process of filling the stool by writing the ruling house to produce candidate for the stool. This is to be done after 14 days that the stool became vacant following the death of Oba Okunade Sijuwade Olubuse II which was announced by the State government on August 12, 2015.

The four ruling houses are Ogboru, Giesi, Lafogido and Osinkola.